Day 4: Bali, Ubud

Today we learnt how to make our offerings for the water temple. It was such intricate, detailed work! The small baskets we made were from banana leaves, and we “stapled” them together using little shots of bamboo wood, which I kept snapping. Thank goodness for our teachers, because I would have been there all day trying to do it The colours of Bali are beautiful. They’re so cheerful and full of life, just like the people we have met so far.

After our workshop, we left for Taman Nusa, a park that had the homes from different cultures over history. While it was lovely seeing the different kinds of homes people lived in and hearing about this history, I had a weird vibe about the place from the start. There were people who performed how things were made, played d different styles of music and danced, and I felt like it was more of a zoo than anything else. About halfway through I decided to stop taking photographs because I felt disgusted in myself and the whole situation. I’m not sure it needed the people there, the homes and artwork would have been enough of their own without having people there who felt like they were being made to “perform” for us tourists. After the visit, it cemented my idea on tourism, and how tourists treat attractions like they were made for them, rather than for the locals, the people who live there every day.

Ready to learn!
Ready to learn!
Paying attention
Paying attention
And we're off!
And we’re off!
What I created all by myself (and with the help of my teachers)
What I created all by myself (with the help of my teachers)
Picking our flowers
Picking our flowers
Done!
Done!
Anna and Rai
Anna and Rai
My offerings
My offerings
Group photo at the entrance to Taman Nusa
Group photo at the entrance to Taman Nusa
Our guide
Our guide
The view
Stunning art pieces
Stunning art pieces
Being tourists
Being tourists
Bone detail on the front of a home
Bone detail on the front of a home
Learning traditional dance
Learning traditional dance
These dolls symbolise the people who are buried in the tombs
These dolls symbolise the people who are buried in the tombs
Matriarch Home
Matriarch Home

Don't forget to recycle
Don’t forget to recycle

Leave a Reply

