IMG_0229

Day 19-23: Singapore

Our time in Singapore was spent looking at private galleries and public museums. While I find looking at art opens my mind, I’m also pretty quick when it comes to looking around, so having guided tours for all the galleries drove me a little insane. I’m sure I was the only one who felt like that during our time in Singapore, I’m just an impatient person with a very low attention span (at least I can admit it). I found the one I enjoyed the most was the Singapore Art Museum as it had a great selection of contemporary and traditional art. They also had a photography exhibition that had some beautiful pieces in it.
Here is a list of galleries and museums we visited while in Singapore:
– NUS Museum (I found interesting that it is a museum at a university that doesn’t teach art)
– Singapore Art Museum
– Singapore Pinacotheque de Paris
– Chan Hampe Gallery
– Raffles Galleries
– STPI
– Asian Civilisations Museum

I hate the idea of privatised art. What is the point in having such beautiful pieces that can only be viewed by collectors or those who have the money to get into the museum? At the Pinacotheque de Paris, I found it sad that there were so many beautiful, priceless pieces of art hidden away in some dark little room. Art should be accessible to all, it reflects a country’s culture and way of life, to have it locked away, I think, does a disservice to the artist.

IMG_0131

IMG_0265

IMG_0256

IMG_0255

IMG_0243

IMG_0229

IMG_0222

IMG_0215

IMG_0202

IMG_0199

IMG_0196

IMG_0191

IMG_0175

IMG_0162

IMG_0156

IMG_0153

IMG_0149

IMG_0140

IMG_0267

Leave a Reply

